Changing My Space

Too much change.  I am one of those people who changes things all the time.  In my classroom during any given year, I might have three completely different arrangements.  This can be a great way to keep things clean.  But, the amount of time it takes to make new travel paths and systems for routines is the part I always forget when I get excited about a new arrangement.  This year has been different.  I have held myself back.  I have not allowed myself to change anything since the beginning of the year.  But navigating technology while teaching can be tricky if your back is facing the meeting area.  So I finally broke down and rotated my desk 45 degrees.  What a HUGE difference it has made today.  I love having my back to the wall.  I didn’t realize how much having a big space behind me really bothered me.    The other difference I appreciate is being protected on one side by a bookshelf. Bookshelves are such an important part of my life.  Having one right next to me reminds me I’m a reader and a writer.  My students all came in and stopped to look at my desk “Wow!  What did you do?”  Working with my document camera and the computer while facing them has made it so much better.  Even though I stayed here until 7:00, it was worth it.  So my advice to someone who can’t get started on something is . . . change your space!

Leave a Reply

