Finally 

It’s been a remarkably challenging two years for teaching. While I love looping first to second grade with my students, 27 is a lot of kids. But after much struggle, my students have hit their stride! 

Writers workshop looks like real writing with less effort for stamina, and more celebrating time writing!  Using tablets, chrome books, some desk top computers and good old paper and pencil, has allowed for these kiddos to take off. The process of writing is very different when they have publishing at their fingertips with voice to text options. Now my conferring takes on new shape. They share their text on drive or send it through email on the tablet. Then my conferring is more focused on giving them opportunities to edit and revise using my computer while I coach in.  These last three days have been so lovely! Kids are buzzing around teaching each other how to spell check and email me their writing. Finally, I am reveling in the joy of their joy!

Leave a Reply

