I feel the laughter more deeply in my gut

In several posts back I referred to my chosen word for 2017, CARE.  It’s a challenging word to live into, day in day out.  I’m discovering a new layer of the word.  Apparently I have always considered the word CARE to be a job description for a good mother. Unbeknownst to me I have been exhausted by it’s demands.  But, I feel a shift from my maternal care I reserved for my children seeping into the rest of my life.  Since I have always worked full time, it has been difficult to maintain friendships and be fully present for my family.  Now that the birds are leaving the nest I am reinventing myself as a person, separate from being a mother.  The decisions I’m making daily to care about others are transforming me. I find myself more present in relationships with others.  The conversations I have are lingering.  I feel the laughter more deeply in my gut. I attribute this directly to my intentionally living into CARING.

11 comments

  1. i can relate to this post. Having the youngest still in the house and adjusting to being a widow, I too am reinventing myself. I feel more relaxed and less uptight about time and responsibilities, that I linger over conversations and connections. Whether it is the byproduct of what I have gone through I feel more compassionate. Despite everything, this makes me happy.
    http://travelinma.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is freeing to worry less about time and realize more in the present. I’m glad you are able to connect with others and linger over conversations, too. Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to treasure my time with my youngest!

      Like

    • Those times in the car can be some of the best times. It’s funny how much I’m looking forward to that time in the car again with my girls on our way to Florida. I used to live in that thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

