Age Knows How to Temper the Drama

My husband and I were talking in the car about the difference between the way we dealt with problems when we were younger adults and the way we handle problems now.  It seemed every problem then was magnified and relived and rehashed way more than the same issues we deal with now.  Why is it we let things roll off our backs so much more readily now than when we were in our 20s?  We are more forgiving, more tolerant, more understanding of people’s shortcomings than we were in our 20’s.  I am not sure if we just don’t have the energy to get all worked up or if we have experienced life enough to know the ins and outs of working with others and letting things go.

We arrived at On the Border for dinner tonight and opted for sitting at the bar.   As we were going over the most recent news, I was a little leery of being too loud with our political commentary so as not to offend others sitting in close proximity.  As my husband reached down to take a bite of his meal, I got wind of one of the conversations from the two stools next to us.  The two gentlemen were clearly friends catching up after a day on the job.  As they talked into their margaritas, I heard the final sentence of a longer conversation, “You know, at our age, its one of those things I don’t have the energy to worry about.  I kinda just let those things go.”

Interestingly enough, we were just having the same conversation.  Age must know how to temper the drama.  Huh.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Age Knows How to Temper the Drama”

  1. I love your connection to your past and then a window into your future… connecting to the older men. I couldn’t agree more… I wish I had the ability to let things go a while back, but I will take it now!

    Like

Leave a comment